Cricket World Cup

cricket World Cup

T20 World Cup India defeated Ireland by 8 wickets

T20 World Cup India defeated Ireland by 8 wickets. In the eighth match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, India started the tournament victoriously by defeating Ireland by 8 wickets.

India easily achieved Ireland‘s target of 97 runs at the loss of 2 wickets in the 13th over.

India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and invited Ireland to bat first in the Group A match played at New York’s Nassau County Ground.

Both the teams were playing their first match in the current World Cup.

Ireland’s innings

Ireland’s batting line failed miserably in front of India’s brilliant bowling and the entire team was bowled out for 96 runs in 16 overs.

For Ireland, Gareth Delaney was outstanding with 26 runs while Joshua Little scored 14 runs and Curtis Kumfer scored 12 runs. Apart from this, Tucker was dismissed for 10 runs.

On behalf of India, Hardik Pandya dismissed 3 players, Arsdeep Singh and Bumrah took 2 wickets each.

India’s innings

India easily achieved Ireland’s target of 97 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in 12.2 overs. Captain Rohit Sharma stood out with 52 runs while Rishabh Pant remained unbeaten with 36 runs.

Virat Kohli and Surya Kumar Yadav are out for 2 runs, skipper Rohit Sharma retired hurt.



View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ESPNcricinfo (@espncricinfo)

It should be noted that 20 teams are in action in the ICCT Twenty World Cup in America and West Indies, a total of 55 matches will be played at 9 venues.

Pakistan will play its first match in the event against the host USA on June 6, while Pakistan and India will play on June 9.

Leave a Comment