, pub-7909423679471905, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

Cricket World Cup

Now why no player will be able to wear the number ‘7’ jersey?

Now why no player will be able to wear the number ‘7’ jersey? The Board of Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided that no player in the Indian men’s cricket team will be able to wear the jersey number ‘7’ anymore.

Every cricketer dreams of representing his country and donning its shirt, for which he is allotted a jersey with different numbers and is also given an option to choose the jersey number.

Each player in the team also has a unique jersey number. Some players are so special that their jersey number becomes their identity, like Sachin Tendulkar‘s jersey number ’10’, and Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s ‘7’. And Chris Gayle’s ‘333’ etc.

This is the reason why the Indian Cricket Board has adopted a different approach to paying tribute to former captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

According to Indian media, BCCI has also retired the number 7 jersey worn by former captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni after 3 and a half years of his retirement, after which no player could wear the number 7 jersey in the future.

Dhoni is the second Indian cricketer who has been given this honor by the BCCI.

Earlier BCCI also retired Sachin Tendulkar’s jersey number ’10’ so that no player can wear this number again in the future.

Leave a Comment